Titleimage: Centre for Research in Economics of Education

The Centre for Research in Economics of Education is part of the Department of Economics at the University of Berne and is active in most fields of Economics of Education. It is financed by external partners, hence the focus of the research is mostly decided by the mandating institution.

The Centre for Research in Economics of Education is also part of the Swiss Leading House Economics of Education, Firm Behaviour and Training Policies.

News

Presentation at the University of Bath

Stefan Wolter was invited by the Economics Department to speak at the University of Bath about gender, competitiveness and career choices along the whole ability distribution.

14.06.17

Elected as Chairman of the Committee of Economics of Education

Stefan Wolter has been elected new chairman of the Standing Field Committee of Economics of Education of the Verein für Socialpolitik and thus also member of the Executive Council of the German Economic Association.

This Association is the oldest association of economists in the German-speaking area and counts more than 1’200 professors and 2’000 young academics from more than 20 countries as its members. The association has 24 Standing Field Committees. The Field Committee of Economics of Education has existed since 1975 and counts more than 60 members.

02.03.17

Paper presented at the Annual Conference of the AEA in Chicago

The Paper: «Gender, competitiveness and study choices in high school - evidence from Switzerland», written by Prof. Stefan Wolter (University of Berne) and Prof. Thomas Buser (University of Amsterdam), was presented by Prof. Noémi Peter (University of Groningen) at the Annual Conference of the American Economic Association in Chicago and selected for the Papers and Proceedings of the American Economic Review. This research paper examines the specialization choices of Bernese Baccalaureate school students.

06.01.07

15 years of research on costs and benefits of VET

Stefan Wolter held a keynote on research results from 15 years of research on costs and benefits of vocational education and training at the first Conference of the Centre for Vocational Education Research (CVER) at the London School of Economics.

05.09.06

Vorherige

More News

Titelbild: Forschungsstelle für Bildungsökonomie

Die Forschungsstelle für Bildungsökonomie ist Teil des Departements Volkswirtschaftslehre der Universität Bern und forscht auf allen Gebieten der Bildungsökonomie. Die Forschungsarbeiten werden durch Drittmittel finanziert und die thematischen Schwerpunkte entsprechen somit grösstenteils den Interessen der jeweiligen Auftraggeber.

Die Forschungsstelle für Bildungsökonomie ist am Swiss Leading House Economics of Education, Firm Behaviour and Training Policies beteiligt.

Stefan Wolter ist Vorsitzender des Bildungsökonomischen Ausschusses des Vereins für Socialpolitik.

Aktuelle Publikationen:

Buser, Thomas; Peter, Noemi & Wolter, Stefan C. (2017). Gender, competitiveness and study choices in high school - evidence from Switzerland, American Economic Review Proceedings, Papers & Proceedings, forthcoming.

News und Veranstaltungen

Wahl zum Vorsitzenden des Bildungsökonomischen Ausschusses

Stefan Wolter wurde an der 42. Sitzung des Bildungsökonomischen Ausschusses des Vereins für Socialpolitik an der Universität Hannover zum neuen Vorsitzenden gewählt und somit auch zum Mitglied des erweiterten Vorstandes des Vereins für Socialpolitik.

Der Verein für Socialpolitik ist die älteste Vereinigung von Ökonominnen und Ökonomen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Er zählt über 1'200 Professorinnen und Professoren und rund 2'000 Nachwuchswissenschafter aus über 20 Ländern als Mitglieder. Der Verein hat 24 Fachausschüsse, welche ihre Mitglieder durch Ko-option aufnehmen. Der Bildungsökonomische Ausschuss besteht seit 1975 und zählt über 60 Mitglieder.

02.03.17

Paper an der Jahreskonferenz der AEA in Chicago vorgestellt

Das gemeinsam mit Prof. Stefan Wolter (Universität Bern) und Prof. Thomas Buser (Universität Amsterdam) verfasste Paper: «Gender, competitiveness and study choices in high school - evidence from Switzerland» wurde von Prof. Noémi Peter (Universität Groningen) an der Jahresversammlung der Amercian Economic Association in Chicago vorgestellt und für die Papers and Proceedings der American Economic Review ausgewählt. In dieser Forschungsarbeit wird die Wahl des Schwerpunktfaches von Berner Gymnasiastinnen und Gymnasiasten untersucht.

06.01.07

15 Jahren Forschung zu Kosten und Nutzen der Berufsbildung

Stefan Wolter hielt an der ersten Konferenz des Centre for Vocational Education Research (CVER) der London School of Economics die Keynote zu Erkenntnissen aus 15 Jahren Forschung zu Kosten und Nutzen der Berufsbildung.

05.09.16

Vorherige

Weitere Beiträge anzeigen